Digital Assets Facebook

Who should be notified?
We could not get information on who should be notified at Facebook.
Who can notify them? What documents are needed?
If you have the deceased’s password, it’s very simple. Just open the account that you want to delete. The go to Account Settings. At the bottom of the page, you will see a Deactivate Account button. Click on it and the account will be deleted.  If you do not have the password and are a verified immediate family member, you can request removal of the account by completing the following form: http://www.facebook.com/help/?faq=13941&ref_query=deceased#!/help/contact.php?show_form=memorialize_special_requests
If no password, can survivor receive one? How?
We couldn’t figure out a way that you could get a password if you didn’t already have one. However, here’s an alternative to deleting the page totally. You can report a death and memorialize the account by going to: https://www.facebook.com/help/contact/305593649477238. You will be asked for a link to the deceased’s page.  You will also be asked your relationship to that person, the year of death, and proof of that death, i.e. a link to an obituary or article
In early 2014, Facebook announced that they have changed their rules related to memorializing the account of a deceased person.   In the past, Facebook determined who could see that memorialized page.  Now, the changed rule says that the memorialized page can be seen by the same people as were able to see the page of the living person.  In other words, the decisions made by that person will be honored after his or her death.  Once the account has been memorialized, there can be no modifications to the site.  No friends can be added or deleted, no photos can be modified and no content that was posted by the site owner can be removed.  However, if the privacy settings allow, friends may be able to share memories on the memorialized timeline.  And anyone can send private messages to the deceased person.
Process for inactive accounts?
As far as we can tell, Facebook does not have a process for deactivating inactive accounts. They may remain in cyberspace forever.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>